The Queens of the neighborhood

It is known that I am a Hamburg plant, which (especially) decided at some point because of the nightlife, turning our Hamburg back and to move to Berlin.

At that time there were almost no Drags in Hamburg and I could see the visible Drags in Hamburg at most count one and a half hands (and since then I've been nice included), which then usually also mostly complete at one of Olivia Jones Royal Chicken Club Parties were present.


(2010) – Valery and I on a Pink inc.

Olivia had not her neighborhood Empire yet was only 2008 landlady and thus all the girls around them not, Nicky Dynamite was not also not in Hamburg and many other visible, not created or simply not there yet. Meanwhile has since done a lot in Hamburg.

Now there is a documentation of the Queens neighborhood of, which is very great, although certainly shows a very limited picture. The documentation is “Queer Life in the City 4 – Queens of Hamburg” and I could see they already fully. I need you as from today by four parts look, but they are very engaging.

Part 3 – is still

are actually interviewed four generations of Hamburg phenomena. Firstly, the Grande Dame of the landscape Lilo Wanders, the lot has to tell. second Olivia Jones Part thereof is slightly smaller, for the third Valery Pearl and last a Veuve Noir.

Part 4 – is still

Anyone who has a bit of insight, quickly realizes that this is because in Lilo, Olivia and Veuve to members of Olivia Jones family is and Valery some first steps made even with Olivia's Parties. In addition, there are both Lilo as well as Valery Pearl already when I was still living in Hamburg was when Olivia.


(2009) Lilo Wanders

There must also give new blood from the now walking to the end of decade, that does not come from Olivia's network. It would therefore certainly other Queens in Hamburg, where.

Part 5 – is still

Nevertheless, it is really exciting to watch. The ladies have a lot to tell.

But to be honest I have Olivia also due to some, the first Parties, have visited the, were their. After they came from Berlin to Hamburg again (where they pottered few years) , reanimated them their Royal Chicken Club and it should have been people, the weeping, came as the mail. I felt definitely that time safe enough, because to go and dance. I was anyone still too shy back then to address, but was approached by Olivia herself, the a few words exchanged with me, What has me very well done. Valery Pearl, who was there also, I dared not then to address.

Part 6 – is still

Valery I then but on many of their own parties and Hamburg CSDs know and love learned. I have still a small laminated card, I won times as terribly lousy Madonna copy, of my life-long free admission and a welcome drink on their “Pearls of the Night” Party grants. Unfortunately, there is no more. You can to Pink Inc. can rewrite?


(2010) – Gaypride Hamburg

What has made such in their past Lilo Wanders, know well about each 30, Olivia is a very political and very enlightened by their individual personality, is probably known, Valery advocates for refugee and is – if I remember me honorary medal lady with the Sisters PSI. Only about Veuve I honestly do nothing. Your I have never met, since Olivia bars always have break, when I'm in Hamburg.

Part 7 – is still

No matter. What I wanted to say. Check it out, is really exciting, what the ladies have to tell so everything.


(2009) in Hamburg

And as Goodie for all, who read up to here, another picture from the poison cabinet 2007 for the whole hard-boiled. To prevent eye cancer, I link it only 😉
And, I want to see it…

Part 8 – is still

AJ & The Queen

Okay, on 10. January 2020 we all need to look again Netflix, because (apparently today) Netflix has a “AJ & The Queen” asked trailer into the net.


I’m a Drag Queen on a cross-country tour.

Okay, at what this reminds me now?

Ru Paul as “The Queen”, in a (not pink) Camper full of drag stuff and clothes, (apparently) because a child by the (not Australian) Outback (for mother?) frightened drives, while some experienced and rednecks in dress. To Lola's “Kinky Boots” Windows occurs, a little like Pray Tell speaks and acts and talks as well as otherwise scolds at Drag Race..

AJ AND THE QUEEN

A newfangled version of Priscilla Queen of the Desert is seasoned with something Kinky Boots, Pose and NEM big blow on top?

Sounds a not completely wrong, But although not entirely for something new. It will be interesting

Olivia Jones – a drag queen with attitude

As part of the Pro7 “Queen Of Drags” course jump the other station a little on the horse. He knows z.B. and the NDR with a report on Olivia Jones, the actual Queen Of Drags in Germany.

A beautiful – not so small – Documentary about Olivia with all their greatest hits. Your great Extra3 report on the NPD congress, their Application for Mayor The Hamburg election, the Dschunglecamp, CSD appearances, Their first appearances in the Schmidt Theater and and and.

And honestly, who wins ever this season of Queen Of Drags. The status of a Olivia Jones still is quite long way. And I hope, that the winner, at least once political will and an example to Olivia functions not only as pretty painted face.

Game of Queens

Game of Queens
Game of Queens

Just before with Queen of Drags will be the theme of drag queens really appear for the first time in prime time in German, have brought me friends from the US, a drag queen quartet with the really famous Drags.

Dame Edna & Sharon Needles
Dame Edna & Sharon Needles

Sometimes I'm not quite satisfied with their assessments. Okay Divine has a Legend of Factor 100 however – matter, what you think of it, a legend is definitely, and in my opinion a higher, than, say, Sharon Needles (the course and of course one is)

Bianca Del Rio & Alaska Thunderfuck
Bianca Del Rio & Alaska Thunderfuck

The same theme at, for example Bianca Del Rio and Alaska Thunderfuck… In my opinion, Bianca would have earned since the higher estimate. But I guess that's just purely subjective.

Also, who plays with my Game of Queens quartet?

Die Queens vom Kiez

Bekanntermaßen bin ich ja eine Hamburger Pflanze, die sich (vor allem) aufgrund des Nachtlebens irgendwann entschieden hat, Hamburg den Rücken zuzukehren und nach Berlin zu ziehen.

Damals gab es in Hamburg nahezu keine Drags und ich konnte die sichtbaren Drags in Hamburg an höchstens anderthalb Händen abzählen (und da hab ich mich damals schon nett eingerechnet), die dann in der Regel auch zumeist vollzählig bei einer von Olivia Jones Royal Chicken Club Parties zugegen waren.


(2010) – Valery und ich auf einer Pink inc.

Olivia hatte ihr Kiez Imperium noch nicht wurde erst 2008 Wirtin und somit all die Mädels um sie herum nicht, Nicky Dynamite war noch nicht in Hamburg und viele andere ebenfalls nicht sichtbar, nicht erschaffen oder einfach noch nicht da. Mittlerweile hat sich da in Hamburg einiges getan.

Nun gibt es eine Dokumentation der Queens vom Kiez, die sehr klasse ist, wenngleich auch sicher ein sehr eingeschränktes Bild zeigt. Die Dokumentation heißt „Queer Life in the City 4 – Queens of Hamburg“ und ich konnte sie bereits vollständig sehen. Ihr müsst Euch da ab heute durch vier Teile schauen, die aber durchaus sehr interessant sind.

Teil 3 – kommt noch

Interviewed werden eigentlich vier Generationen von Hamburger Erscheinungen. Zum einen die Grande Dame der Landschaft Lilo Wanders, die sehr viel zu erzählen hat. zum Zweiten Olivia Jones deren Part etwas kleiner ist, zum dritten Valery Pearl und zuletzt noch Veuve Noir.

Teil 4 – kommt noch

Wer ein bisschen Einblick hat, merkt schnell dass es sich da bei Lilo, Olivia und Veuve um Mitglieder der Olivia Jones Familie handelt und Valery einige ihre ersten Schritte auch bei Olivias Parties gemacht hat. Zudem gab es sowohl Lilo als Olivia wie auch Valery Pearl schon als ich noch in Hamburg wohnte.


(2009) Lilo Wanders

Da muss es doch auch neues Blut aus dem jetzt zu Ende gehendem Jahrzehnt geben, dass nicht aus Olivias Netzwerk kommt. Es hätte also bestimmt auch noch andere Queens in Hamburg gegeben.

Teil 5 – kommt noch

Trotzdem ist es wirklich spannend anzuschauen. Die Damen haben viel zu erzählen.

Aber ganz ehrlich ich habe Olivia auch einiges zu verdanken, die ersten Parties, die besucht habe, waren ihre. Nachdem sie wieder aus Berlin nach Hamburg kam (wo sie einige Jahre werkelte) , reanimierte sie ihren Royal Chicken Club und es soll Menschen gegeben haben, die weinten, als die Mail kam. Ich fühlte mich auf jeden Fall damals safe genug, da hinzugehen und zu tanzen. Ich war damals noch viel zu schüchtern irgendwen anzusprechen, wurde aber von Olivia selbst angesprochen, die ein paar Worte mit mir wechselte, was mir sehr gut getan hat. Valery Pearl, die dort auch war, wagte ich damals nicht anzusprechen.

Teil 6 – kommt noch

Valery habe ich dann aber auf vielen ihrer eigenen Parties und Hamburg CSDs kennen und mögen gelernt. Ich habe heute noch einen kleinen laminierten Ausweis, den ich mal als furchtbar miese Madonna Kopie gewonnen habe, der mir lebenslang freien Eintritt und einen Begrüßungssekt auf ihrer „Pearls of the Night“ Party gewährt. Dummerweise gibt es die nicht mehr. Kann man das auf Pink Inc. umschreiben lassen?


(2010) – CSD Hamburg

Was Lilo Wanders so in ihrer Vergangenheit gemacht hat, weiss wohl jeder über 30, dass Olivia eine sehr politische und durch ihre Person sehr aufklärerische Persönlichkeit ist, ist wohl auch bekannt, Valery setzt sich für geflüchtete ein und ist – wenn ich mich erinnere Ehren-Ordensdame bei den Schwestern PSI. Nur über Veuve weiss ich ehrlich gesagt nix. Ihr bin ich bisher nie begegnet, da Olivias Bars immer dann Pause haben, wenn ich in Hamburg bin.

Teil 7 – kommt noch

Egal. Was ich sagen wollte. Schaut mal rein, ist wirklich spannend, was die Damen so alles zu erzählen haben.


(2009) in Hamburg

Und als Goodie für alle, die bis hier gelesen haben, noch ein Bild aus dem Giftschrank 2007 für die ganz Hartgesottenen. Um Augenkrebs zu vermeiden verlinke ich es nur 😉
Ja, ich will es sehen…

Teil 8 – kommt noch

AJ & The Queen

Okay, am 10. Januar 2020 müssen wir alle wieder Netflix schauen, denn (scheinbar heute) hat Netflix einen „AJ & The Queen“ Trailer ins Netz gestellt.


I’m a Drag Queen on a cross-country tour.

Okay, an was erinnert mich das jetzt?

Ru Paul als „The Queen“, die in einem (nicht rosafarbenen) Camper voll von Drag-Zeug und Kleidern, (offenbar) wegen einem Kind durch das (nicht australische) Outback (zur Mutter?) fährt und dabei einiges erlebt sowie Rednecks im Kleid erschreckt. Dazu mit Lola’s „Kinky Boots“ Fensterscheiben eintritt, ein wenig wie Pray Tell spricht und wirkt und spricht sowie ansonsten wie bei Drag Race schimpft..

AJ AND THE QUEEN

Eine neumodische Version von Priscilla Queen of the Desert angewürzt mit etwas Kinky Boots, Pose und nem großen Schlag oben drauf?

Klingt erst einmal nicht vollkommen falsch, wenngleich aber auch nicht nach etwas gänzlich neuen. Man darf gespannt sein

Olivia Jones – eine Dragqueen mit Haltung

Im Zuge der Pro7 „Queen Of Drags“ springen natürlich auch die anderen Sender ein wenig auf das Pferd. Wie z.B. auch der NDR mit einer Reportage über Olivia Jones, der eigentlichen Queen Of Drags in Deutschland.

Eine schöne – gar nicht mal so kleine – Doku über Olivia mit all ihren größten Hits. Ihre großartige Extra3 Reportage auf dem NPD Parteitag, ihre Bewerbung zur Bürgermeisterin bei der Hamburger Wahl, das Dschunglecamp, CSD Auftritte, Ihre ersten Auftritte im Schmidts Theater und und und.

Und ganz ehrlich, wer auch immer diese Staffel von Queen Of Drags gewinnt. Zum Status einer Olivia Jones ist noch ein ganz weiter Weg. Und ich hoffe, dass die Gewinnerin, sich zumindest mal politisch ein Beispiel an Olivia nimmt und nicht nur als hübsches geschminktes Gesicht fungiert.

Game of Queens

Game of Queens
Game of Queens

Kurz bevor mit Queen of Drags of erstmals das Thema Drag Queens wirklich zur besten Sendezeit im Deutschen erscheinen wird, haben mir Freunde aus den USA ein Drag Queen Quartett mit den wirklich bekannten Drags mitgebracht.

Dame Edna & Sharon Needles
Dame Edna & Sharon Needles

Teilweise bin ich aber mit deren Einschätzungen nicht so ganz zufrieden. Okay Divine hat einen Legend Factor von 100 aber – egal, was man von ihr hält, eine Legende ist sie auf jeden Fall, und meiner Meinung nach auch eine höhere, als beispielsweise Sharon Needles (die natürlich und selbstverständlich auch eine ist)

Bianca Del Rio & Alaska Thunderfuck
Bianca Del Rio & Alaska Thunderfuck

Gleiches Thema bei beispielsweise Bianca Del Rio und Alaska Thunderfuck… Meiner Meinung nach hätte da Bianca die höhere Einschätzung verdient. Aber vermutlich ist das einfach rein subjektiv.

Also, wer spielt mit mir das Game of Queens Quartett?